StaleyNews Brings Home National Awards

Talon Magazine Earns 4th Place Best of Show; Individuals Earn Several Awards


Mason Baugh, Jackson Phelps, Brianne Tremper, Grace Winkler, Kendall Warren, Not pictured: Brady Stark and Marc Taduran

      Scholastic journalists from around the country attended the Fall National High School Journalism Convention Nov. 9-12 in St. Louis. The StaleyNews crew brought home several national awards.

Best of Show

     The National Scholastic Press Association Best of Show awards were presented at the Fall National High School Journalism Convention awards ceremony Nov. 12. More than 3,100 high school journalists and advisers attended the conference. 

4th Place: Overall Newsmagazine, more than 1,800 enrollment

Talon magazine, 2022-2023 staff

Editors: Brianne Tremper, Grace Winkler; Staff: Alex Bermudez, Elyse Bredfeldt, Lily Carmichael, Aeyika Hatch, Fallyn Kowalski, Beck Marier, Collin McGinley, Reagan Schulz, Joe Smith

5th Place: Yearbook Design 

Kendall Warren

7th Place: Yearbook Design

Kendall Warren

Kendall Warren, Best of Show, Yearbook Design, 5th & 7th Place

On-Site Write-Off Awards

Honorable Mention: Commentary Writing

Brianne Tremper

Bri Tremper, Honorable Mention, Commentary Writing

Honorable Mention: Portrait Photography

Kendall Warren

Kendall Warren, Honorable Mention, Portrait Photography


Individual Awards

NSPA presents its Individual Awards honoring the best individual work in scholastic journalism each year. There are 11 categories. Entries are judged by teams of professionals with experience and expertise in the area of each particular contest.

The contests are open to any student on staff of an NSPA-member publication. Entries must have been published or broadcast during the academic year.

Entries are submitted in June, and Individual Awards are presented at the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention.


2nd Place: 2022 Broadcast Sports Story of The Year

Mason Baugh, Jackson Phelps, Brady Stark, Mark Taduran

Title In Sight: The Hunt For State Part 2

3rd Place: 2022 Broadcast Sports Story of The Year

Mason Baugh, Jackson Phelps, Brady Stark, Mark Taduran

The Hunt For State: Climbing Back

Marc Taduran, Brady Stark, Jackson Phelps, Mason Baugh

Honorable Mention: Cartoon of The Year

Grace Winkler

Honorable Mention: Digital Story of The Year

Charlie Warner

Warner’s World: Movies Underutilize Soundtracks

Grace Winkler, Cartoon of the Year: Honorable Mention


(Individual Awards were submitted in June 2022.)